Category Archives: product review

A cool NEW shoe accessory!!

Have you heard of Hickies? If you have small kids it’s a great shoe accessory that turns sneakers into slip on shoes. #ad

Turn any pair of shoes into custom-fitted slip-ons with HICKIES lacing system. Perfect gift for any age from kids to adults. https://www.hickies.com/

HICKIES are great for any adult or kid with a wide range of colours. An unexpected, fun and extremely functional product.

One size fits all!
Amazing stocking stuffer prices at $11.99 (HICKIES Kids), $14.99 (HICKIES Adult) and $17.99 (HICKIES Metallics)

The travel, parenting and fitness hack that you never knew you needed, until now.

Save 20% on HICKIES lacing system! – Save 20% on HICKIES lacing system! Use code USFG at checkout to save. Only valid on https://www.hickies.com/
http://usfamilycoupons.com/coupon.php… .@usfghickies2 hickies3

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

UPDATE: We received two pairs of Hickies  a week ago…pink and black / gold.
I put them on my daughter’s gold hightop sneakers (kid size) and the pink ones on my shoes. Overall I like the concept. It states it’s one size but it was snug on my shoe (adult size) and on my daughter’s I had to snap the top two straps after she got the shoes on..so it wasn’t a true slip on. But I’m sure it would have worked fine on a regular sneaker. Of course we were rushing to get out the door that day and the gold shoes matched her outfit  #lol

2016-12-05-23-45-402016-12-05-23-48-022016-12-05-23-52-18

(I received the product mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Easily identify your kid’s stuff!

2015-11-11 10.56.24If you have toddlers in school you know they like to share and trade things. And if they are at a private school were they wear uniforms and carry the same type of backpack, their things can easily be mixed up.

Recently I had the opportunity to try Labeldaddy. A site that sells labels to personalize and identify your child’s belongings. They have labels for cups, clothes, backpacks. They even come in different shapes, sizes and have characters from Disney to the NBA.

Labeldaddy

I decided to try the zipper tags. It came in a pack of 10 tags with Princess Tiana on one side and my daughter’s name on the other side. So far we have placed them on her backpack. She loves them!! The only downside I can see is the tags are very small, about the size of a dime. I wish they were a little bigger but the quality is nice.

 

2015-11-06 14.36.45

 

(I received the product mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog. Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”)

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

The day my 3 year SHUT DOWN a theme park!

If you live in Florida, one of the first BIG adventures you want to accomplish with your kids is take them to Disney World or one of the other major theme parks in Orlando. As a mom of a now three year old little girl, I contemplated when this adventure would take place….what age should we take her? Is three too young to go? Will she remember it?

Mommy and SW legoland

With my husband’s hectic schedule this year, we decided to take a mini vacation at the end of September. Vacationing in the fall and during the week meant there would be smaller crowds, because school was back in session, and cooler weather, which made walking around and standing in line more bearable.

Planning before you go.
Before we decided which park we would take our 3 year old to, I did some extensive research. Yes, I admit that I may have an A type personality (lol). First, I asked other moms who I know have taken their toddlers to theme parks what their experiences were like. Second, I looked at which parks had age and height requirements. Most parks don’t necessarily go by the child’s age for safety requirements on the rides, but rather by the child’s height. Third, as a military spouse, I had my husband check the Information, Tickets and Travel (ITT) office on base to see if their tickets were cheaper than online or the Florida resident discounts.

Where did we decide  to go….drumroll pleaseLegoland Florida !!! Located about 45 minutes southwest of Orlando! Our 3 year old was tall enough to ride on about 90% of their rides as long as she was accompanied by an adult. Just make sure you look at the ride first before getting on. There were a few roller coasters with deep dips and turns, so we decided to pass on them, even though she met the height requirements.

2015-10-12 13.12.28

2015-10-12 21.46.25
On the military base, the ticket prices start at about $52 per adult. However, by purchasing ours on base we saved almost 50% off. Bonus: Military veterans get in FREE with valid ID! NOTE: Parking starts at $17. Before you go make sure you check the open dates for the water park (an additional fee)…it apparently has different hours from the rest of the park. Although the Waterpark was not open during our visit, the rest of the park had a few water rides.

What should you bring?
Moms of little ones know you have to pack “everything, but the kitchen sink”, when traveling. Even though 3 year olds aren’t babies anymore, they still need many of the basics. Especially items like water and snacks; these items can be very expensive inside the park. And if you have more kids….mo kids, mo money! I also suggest bringing cash for a frozen treat or souvenir. Below is a list of things we brought with us:

  1. Small backpack
  2. Water
  3. Non-perishable snacks
  4. Change of clothes
  5. Baby wipes
  6. Hand sanitizer
  7. Sunscreen
  8. Cool clothes/comfortable shoes
  9. Clorox wipes
  10. Cash

I would rate our overall experience at Legoland Florida a 4-star. We arrived at the park around 1pm after lunch at Zaxby’s and left right at 5pm (Yes! We shut the park down!). Did I mention our 3 year had an EPIC melt-down because she didn’t want to get off of the Safari ride…did I mention it was an EPIC meltdown?! Who else is going through the toddler stage? Ya’ll know the struggle is real!! Unfortunately, no matter how much you plan, there’s always the unexpected. (This is the reason for 4-stars)

2015-10-12 15.48.05

(This Ford SUV is made out of ALL legos…created from more than 380,000 LEGO bricks!)

2015-10-12 13.48.57

We were able to walk to entire park, ride about 6 rides, see a show in Heart Lake City, play a few basketball games (my husband won our daughter a stuffed Minion), tour the AMAZING city displays – all made of Legos and have a yummy frozen treat.

All in all, I have to say it was a Good Day! (In my Ice Cube voice)

andrea and SW legoland

 

 

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Natural hair oils (tea tree)

Recently I had the opportunity to test out a  100% pure Australian tea tree oil. I was really excited to try this product because I have been transition to natural for almost 2 years. (I have 4b hair). I have used other brands of tea tree oils and sometimes I combine them with other oils like grape seed, coconut, and argan to help seal in the moisture.

tea tree oil

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The first thing I noticed was the strong scent. It reminded me of Sulfar 8. While it worked well, I couldn’t get pass the smell. Needless to say I tried to use the Australian tea tree oil …but the smell was just too strong for me. If you love the smell you’ll love the product!

What I did love is the company has a fully detailed guide on 50 ways to use tea tree oil … beyond benefits for your hair.

 

(I received this product for free to review via tomoson.com)

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail